My accident

 

 

image

I guess it’s time for me to share this nightmare with you. I was in a bike-accident last weekend. I landed on my left arm, broke the radius bone in my arm and dislocated my shoulder in the acromio-clavicular joint. This means that my collarbone is dislocated from my shoulderblad and my shoulder is unstable. It’s gonna take weeks before a can move it like normal again and probably months until I have the same strength in my arm and shoulder.

I’ve been so frustrated and sad theese few days because I can’t believe this has happened and how it changes my daily life. Nothing is the same anymore. I depend on other people for simple stuff like taking a shower. It’s so strange, I feel completely trapped in my own body.

I can’t do yoga for a while. It may sound silly but this really brakes my heart, it’s my favourite thing to do and I do it every day. Ofcourse I’m so grateful I did’nt hurt myself more and that my injury is not that bad but for me it’s the worst I’ve ever been through.

Now to the positive. This is a huge cliché but so true, I’ve learned a valuable lesson. My body is not unbreakable. I need to be more careful with it and more grateful for how well it serves me. My body is my tool. If it brakes nothing else matters, everything changes.

At least, this blog is not over if you thought so! I will keep posting challenges that I made before the injury and as soon as I can start rehab I will do all the yoga I can. I’ve heard Asthanga yoga is the best rehab so I will post everything I can to challenge you to do more poses and I will ofcourse post my progress with the arm:)

Big love from your wounded Doctor

Leave a Reply

