Injury progress – healing yoga<3

image

 

I think it’s time for a injury update! About 3 months ago I was in an bikeaccident and hurt my left arm. I broke my forearm and dislocated my collarbone from my shoulder. It was the worst injury I’ve ever had and the rehab seemed endless. I hav’nt done surgery on either, the fracture was stable enough to heal by its own and for the dislocation I got recommendations to try with rehab before surgery. It’s been a tough way back. The first month was all about working up flexibility in my shoulder and arm again and the pain was awful. But the more I pushed the more function I got back in my arm which kept me motivated. After a month my fracture was supposedly healed and I could start trying to put pressure on my arm again. I did a lot of rehab-exercises and started doin yoga poses again. I tried different armbalances to put more and more pressure on my arm every day, depending on how much I could handle. It hurt a lot but I saw so fast progress, and a few weeks later I was back doing handstands. Yoga helped me so much to gain back both strength and flexibility in my arm! Now I’m not doing any particular rehab exercises anymore because I feel that my arm is back on track. Im doing yogaposes now that I could’nt even do before the injury. I have full function in my forearm and my shoulder is working well for me in yoga and everyday life. The issues I have left is sometimes pain over the joint between my collarbone and shoulder (where the injury was) and sometimes I cant rest on my left side because it hurts in my shoulder. But I’m so grateful for this fast progress and I’m hopeful for the future, I don’t think I will need surgury. Rehab worked for me. I think yoga was a BIG part of it mostly because I think it’s such a fun workout and it’s easy to feel progress because you’re working with your whole bodys strength, balance and flexibility. This has helped med so much to stay motivated through pain and failure.

I’ve said it before and I say it again; I truly recommend yoga as a healthy complement to rehab-exercises after injuries or for differ’nt kind of chronic pain-issues! Please share with me if you’ve had an experience were yoga has helped you!

Love, yogi back on track

Leave a Reply

